Football Glory for U15s 2021-10-17 17:27:00



Inniscarra had a comprehensive victory over Clonakilty in the Rebel Og Fe-15 Premier 2 Football Shield Final at Clonakilty. The foundation for victory was laid in the first half with Inniscarra getting some great scores and Daniel O'Connor scoring three top class goals and Sean Murphy getting the other goal.

Inniscarra started smartly with Sean Murphy getting the first point after being played in by Sean Linehan followed by good defending by David Linehan getting the ball to Ben O'Connell who scored the second point. A good kick out by Alex Neilon reached Darragh O'Brien who was fouled with Daniel O'Connor pointing the free. Sean Linehan then set up Darragh Lyons for a point before Michael Lyons broke up a Clonakilty attack and fed the ball to Daniel O'Connor who pointed. Superb defending by Conor O'Sullivan led to a free out which resulted in Cormac Dineen picking up the ball and passing to Darragh O'Brien who hand passed to Daniel O'Connor and he scored his first goal.

First water break: Inniscarra 1-- 5 Clonakilty 0 - 1.

Good combination work by Niall Buckley and Darragh Lyons got the ball to Ben O'Connell and his pass to Sean Murphy was finished to the net. Jonathan Pigott and Trevor O'Reilly defended brilliantly to get the ball to Ronan O'Keeffe whose clearance reached Ben O'Connell and he passed the ball to Daniel O'Connor who scored his second goal. A good catch and clearance by Trevor O'Reilly reached Cormac Dineen who quickly picked out Ben O'Connell and he duly pointed. A good kick out by Alex Neilon reached Conor O'Sullivan who quickly transferred the ball to Niall Buckley and his kick into attack was fielded by Daniel O'Connor and he beat the goalkeeper for his third goal.

Half Time: INNISCARRA 4 - 6, CLONAKILTY 1 - 5.

The second half was less frantic with Inniscarra mainly in containment mode and with many shots for points off target the scoring was low. Inniscarra did get the first point courtesy of a Daniel O'Connor free after good work by Cormac Dineen and Ronan O'Keeffe. A good move out of defence involving David Linehan and Conor Earle and Darragh Lyons resulted in a free in but a square ball was called by the referee.

Second water break: Inniscarra 4 - 7, Clonakilty 1 - 8.

The fourth quarter was evenly contested with Alex Neilon making a very important save and a foul on Aogain Quinlivan resulted in a Daniel O'Connor pointed free. A late Clonakilty goal just made the scoreline more respectible.

Final score INNISCARRA 4 - 8, CLONAKILTY 2 - 8.

Scorers, Daniel O'Connor 3 - 4, Sean Murphy 1 - 1, Ben O'Connell 0 - 2, Darragh Lyons 0 - 1.

Team, Alex Neilon, Jonathan Pigott, Trevor O'Reilly, David Linehan, Michael Lyons, Ronan O'Keeffe, Conor O'Sullivan, Niall Buckley, Cormac Dineen, Darragh O'Brien, Sean Linehan, Daniel O'Connor, Sean Murphy, Ben O'Connell, Darragh Lyons,

Subs, Conor Earle for Michael; Ryan Murphy for Darragh Lyons, Colman Aherne for Darragh O'Brien, Kevin O'Connell for David Linehan, Aogain Quinlivan for Sean Murphy, Ross Foley, Ben Gleeson.

Captain Ben O'Connell accepted the cup on behalf of his team and thanked all who travelled to support and mentors, Kevin Buckley, Martin Murphy, John O'Keeffe John Lynch, Ger Dineen, Kevin Keohane, Tony Foley.

Back to top