Fe 16 Football League Final 2020-10-01 20:11:00

Inniscarra were defeated by Bantry Blues in the final of the Fe 16 Premier 2  Football League at Kilmichael on Saturday.  The final scoreline doesnt do justice to Inniscarra as they led right up to the final ten minutes of  the game but, having been reduced to 14 players for the final quarter, they just ran out of steam and Bantry got the final scores.   A very bright start by Inniscarra was rewarded with a well taken goal by Cian Curran when he found himself in space after a good pass by Cameron Lynch. Brian Lowney, Cian Curran and Cameron Lynch followed with points before Bantry had their first point.  Two further points by Brian Lowney after excellent defending by Tadgh Lyons and a very good point by Tom Coughlan after good work by Daniel Murphy and Michael Murphy had Inniscarra leading by eight points but before half time Bantry got a goal and point to leave the half time score   INNISCARRA   1  -  6,  BANTRY BLUES  1  -  2.    A point by Liam Buckley, after good defending by Ross O'Donovan and Jonathan Keane, got Inniscarra off to a good start in the second half but Bantry responded with five unanswered points before excellent play by Conor Sheehan and good defending by David Keane and Andrew Scannell saw the ball reach Sean Connolly in the forward line and he finished the move by scoring an excellent goal. Inniscarra now led by three points at the second water break but the sending off shifted the momentum to Bantry and the backs were under pressure but some excellent saves by Daniel O'Connor and a good move involving Tadgh O'Keeffe and Liam Leisk resulted in a Brian Lowney pointed free but in the last few minutes Bantry scored two goals and three points to distort the scoreline. Final Score  INNISCARRA  2  -  8,  BANTRY BLUES  3  -13.  Scorers,  Cian Curran  1  -  1,  Brian Lowney  0  -  4,  Sean Connolly  1  -  0,  Cameron Lynch  0  -  1,  Tom Coughlan  0  -  1,  Liam Buckley  0  -  1.  Team,  Daniel O'Connor,  Ross O'Donovan,  David Keane,  Andrew Scannell,  Jonathan Keane,  Tadgh Lyons,  Sean Connolly,  Conor Sheehan,  Liam Buckley,  Cameron Lynch,  Brian Lowney,  Tom Coughlan,  Michael Murphy,  Cian Curran,  Daniel Murphy,  subs, Tadgh O'Keeffe for Micheal,  Harry Church for Cian,  Liam Leisk for Daniel Murphy,  Daniel Aherne for Tom,  Donal Dineen,  Myles O'Neill,  Michael Dineen,  Luke Melloudin, Callum Larkin,  Cillian Ryan.  Many thanks to all who helped bring this group of players to a county final,  Fergal Lowney, Kieran Keane,  Liam Collins,  Kevin Curran,  John Ryan, Dave Collins,  Pat Dineen,  Tony Sutton.

Back to top