Victory for U12 Footballers 2021-10-18 17:52:00

Inniscarra Fe-12 footballers recently had a good win over Blarney in the Mid Football Shield Final at a wet and windy Blarney pitch. Having conceded an early goal Inniscarra were awarded a penalty for a foot block on James O'Sullivan but the goalkeeper saved for a 45. Good defending by Stephen Kelleher and Cian Duggan got the ball to Tomas O'Connell who passed to Ben Lynch and he scored a goal. A free flowing move involving Cian Duggan and Rory O'Mahony got the ball up field to Luke O'Mahony who passed to Tomas O'Connell and he scored a point. Inniscarra then conceded a goal and a point to before first water break

First Half Water Break Inniscarra 1 - 1 Blarney 2 - 1.

The second quarter was completely dominated by Inniscarra with James O'Sullivan scoring the first point from a free after Ben Lynch was fouled. A well taken point by Darragh Crowley from a good pass by Adam O'Mahony was followed by another point by James O'Sullivan after a good clearance by Jamie Dineen was picked up by Luke O'Mahony who picked out Rory O'Mahony and his pass to James O'Sullivan provided the required opening. A good stop by Ryan Hally got the ball to Matthew Cantillon-Murphy with his clearance reaching Stephen Kelleher who passed to Jamie Dineen and his long ball was picked up by Ben Lynch who scored his second goal. A good catch by Adam O'Mahony resulted in a second point by Darragh Crowley and this was followed by a superb long range point by Jamie Dineen after he picked up a Paddy O'Mahony clearance.


Against the wind and rain in the second half it was a case of a strong defence and goalkeeper Ryan Hally made some outstanding saves with Paddy O'Mahony a powerhouse at full back ably assisted by Matthew Cantillon-Murphy. In the third quarter Blarney scored three points to reduce the deficit.

Second Half Water Break Inniscarra 2 - 6 Blarney 2 - 4.

The fourth quarter was a tense affair with each side scoring a point, the Inniscarra score a very good effort by Ciaran Lyons and subs Bobby O'Halloran and Tom McGillicuddy putting in a very good performance.


Scorers, Ben Lynch 2 - 0, James O'Sullivan 0 - 2, Darragh Crowley 0 - 2, Tomas O'Connell 0 - 1, Jamie Dineen 0 - 1, Ciaran Lyons 0 - 1.

Team:  Ryan Hally, Matthew Cantillon-Murphy, Paddy O'Mahony, Stephen Kelleher, Jamie Dineen, Cian Duggan, Adam O'Mahony, Tomes O'Connell, James O'Sullivan, Luke O'Mahony, Ben Lynch, Darragh Crowley,

subs, Bobby O'Halloran for Darragh, Tom McGillicuddy for Luke, Ciaran Lyons for Tomas, James Tuite, Dylan O'Sullivan, Culann Harrington, Stephen Murphy.

Captain Cian Duggan accepted the cup after the match to the delight of his team mates. Thanks to mentors, Noel Kelleher, Harry O'Mahony, Conor O'Mahony, Ger Dineen, Paul McGillicudy, Michael O'Mahony, Roy O'Halloran.

Back to top